‘Tis the season to be stressed out. The holidays are a bittersweet time for college students. While we do finally get our winter break after what seemed to be a never-ending semester or quarter, we have to get through one last hurdle: finals. I can probably count the amount of students I know who don’t procrastinate on one of my hands. This article found that between 80 and 95 percent of college students procrastinate on their schoolwork, according to the American Psychological Association. I 100 percent fall into that category, and these are some of the activities I choose over schoolwork.

Clean ~

One of my favorite methods of procrastinating is an activity I’ve coined, “procrasticleaning.” It’s exactly what it sounds like: procrastinating on something far more important than whatever chore I decide to do. This is sort of how it goes down in my brain: term paper or clean out my closet? Cleaning takes less brain power, therefore it’s an easier task to do there in the moment. It’s more satisfying to clean something and see the results immediately than it is to write a paper and have to wait for the grade to (hopefully) feel the satisfaction of the work you’ve done.

Exercise ~

Another fun way I like to procrastinate is by exercising instead, even if it’s just running around my neighborhood or dancing around my room for 20 minutes. The reason exercise is so much easier than trying to finish a project for class is because there’s zero risk in going for a run. You start when you want to and you finish when you’re tired, so you know exactly what you’re getting yourself into. Schoolwork is challenging and learning new material or skills can be scary, because there’s risk. So why not refresh your brain with some light exercise the next time you’re feeling overwhelmed by finals.

Sleep ~

Not only is sleep something that everyone needs to do, it’s a good way to refresh your brain in the middle of the day. Naps, people! They’re not just for children! According to an article by Kimberly Cote, PhD Professor of Psychology and Neuroscience at Brock University and president of the Canadian Sleep Society, “an afternoon nap of 20 minutes is ideal to increase alertness, mood, and to improve work productivity.”

Don’t procrastinate ~

My list is definitely helpful if you wish to procrastinate. However, another option you have is to not procrastinate at all. That doesn’t necessarily mean do all of your homework the instant you get it; it means to practice good time management. If you’re one of the many college students juggling school, work, and just life in general, being able to plan out when you’re going to do what work is a key in being a successful student. It’s something I’ve been battling since the start of my college career, and if you’re struggling with time management too maybe this link can help you out.

The morale of my story is that I can’t tell you what to do. If you want to do your homework, good on you. If you don’t want to do your homework, that’s also your decision. Whatever you decide to do, good luck on your finals and remember to keep it klean out there!

Leave a Reply

