For years, I was reluctant to join a gym. I assumed it would be a smelly, hot place filled with googly-eyed meatheads that just wanted to ask me if I needed help with my weights.

Boy, was I wrong.

I joined a gym for the first time this month and it was definitely a good call. It’s a cheap price to pay per month, and I get to work out whenever I want to.

Before I joined the gym I still tried to be as active as possible. Running was my physical activity of choice, but I also liked to do yoga, dance, and lift whatever weights I had at home. If you haven’t tried any of these at home workouts but are interested, here’s a yoga session that’s excellent in the mornings.

In the beginning, this was a solid workout regiment that had enough variety to keep me entertained. However, after a while it became clear to me that working out at home wasn’t going to be enough to satisfy my muscles. So a friend of mine decided to join a gym while there was a particularly good deal going on and I thought, well why the heck not?

So I get to the gym, am given a quick tour, and then am free to roam as I please. And what did I find? Definitely no googly-eyed meatheads, if that’s what you’re thinking. Instead, I was like a kid in a candy store.

gym-photo

There were rows upon rows of  cardio machines. And then of course there were ab, arm, and leg machines, oh my! There’s even a section with free weights (although I’m not strong enough to hang with those non-googly meatheads yet). I think you’re probably starting to get the picture.

Basically, the point I’m trying to make is that if you’re on the fence about joining a gym, don’t be! If money is the reason you haven’t joined yet, (it was definitely my reason) think about it this way: you’re paying for the services so it’s just another motivator to get out there and use them. Keeping an eye out for good deals is also helpful.

I hope my story might be the tiniest bit inspiring for those of you that want to hit the gym but don’t want to at the same time. What I would say to those of you that aren’t inspired is don’t knock it till you try it, and keep it klean out there!

 

Leave a Reply

